Marinated Portobella Mushrooms with Fontina and Fresh Herbs


SONY DSC

About 6 months ago, I stopped in to Trader Joe’s to pick up a couple of groceries. I don’t know if you have Trader Joe’s where you are, but one of the best parts about shopping there is that they always have samples. Good samples. You really can’t stop in without swinging by the sample counter. It’s marketing genius – I think they probably sell a lot of products after people get a chance to taste test. This time they were giving out marinated mushrooms with melted fontina cheese on top. I walked through the store for the next 10 minutes in a state of pure, unadulterated bliss. Immediately I knew I needed to put this idea on my list of recipes to try.

I should have made them sooner.

These are sooooo good. I would eat them daily. That is not an exaggeration. I only made enough for S and I, so if you plan to make these for a group, you will want to multiply the recipe accordingly. Also, the marinade can be modified depending on what you have on hand.

Marinated Mushrooms with Fontina and Fresh Herbs

1 package medium-large Portobello mushrooms
1/2 cup olive oil
3 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 Tbsp Balsamic vinegar
1 tsp fresh minced garlic
Salt and Pepper to taste
1/2 cup grated fontina cheese
finely chopped parsley
minced chives

Combine all ingredients except the mushrooms, cheese and herbs. Whisk well.

Marinated Mushrooms

Remove the stems from the mushrooms. One at a time, add mushrooms to the marinade, turning to coat each one fully. I also spooned some of the marinade over the top.

Marinated Mushrooms

Cover and refrigerate. I would let marinate for at least an hour, but these can be marinated for longer.

Marinated Mushrooms

Remove mushrooms from the marinade and place on a baking sheet. Fill evenly with fontina cheese and sprinkle herbs and a pinch of salt and pepper on top. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and browned.

Marinated mushrooms

Marinated Mushrooms

These would be great at a barbeque or to serve at a party. Or to eat by yourself in one sitting. Not that I would do that…

-k

Leave a Reply

