Chorizo Empanadas

Hi. It’s me. I didn’t fall off the face of the earth. I was living in a whirlwind. I haven’t cooked much in the last several months – I haven’t had the time. Or the energy for that matter. I’m hopeful that life will slow down now that travel/summer/wedding season is over. Or maybe I’ll get a week’s rest and then hurtle into the holiday season. Yep, that’s more likely.

Do you like chorizo? I love it. I wish I had discovered it sooner. I didn’t sample chorizo for the first time until a couple of years ago when I finally started trying new things. My mistake.

These chorizo empanadas, or hand pies, are easy to make, and the ingredient list is neither long, nor complicated. I could eat them for days.

Chorizo Empanadas

1 package puff pastry dough
1 package chorizo
mexican cheese
1/2 onion, diced
1 egg

First, saute the onion until translucent.

Add the chorizo and cook on high heat until cooked through. This will timing might vary. I waited until it was crispy and until most of the oil had cooked off, around 8 minutes.

While the chorizo is browning, you can grate your cheese. This was more of a crumble due to the cheese consistency. You know what I mean.

 Add the cheese, and stir until melted and incorporated.

 

 Using a glass, circular cookie cutter or biscuit cutter, cut your puff pastry into rounds. Guess which method I used – definitely the glass. I really need to invest in a biscuit cutter one of these days.

Place a spoonful of the chorizo/cheese mixture into the center of the dough. 

 Fold over the edges and use beaten egg to seal.

 I tried to make my edges look pretty but then you couldn’t even tell when they came out of the oven. So that might have been a waste of time. Brush the tops with the remaining egg wash. Bake at 375 degrees for 20-30 minutes or until golden brown.

 I’ve missed you guys.

-k

One thought on “Chorizo Empanadas

Leave a Reply

