Greek (ish) Egg Rolls with Spinach and Mushrooms

We are officially 2/3 done with our month long move. Yep, you read that correctly. 3 separate moves will occur before we reach our final destination. It is a true miracle that one of us hasn’t murdered the other. There’s been some evil eye, under-breath grumbling and general grumpiness, but that’s about it. I think that’s pretty normal when you are in various stages of packing/loading/disorganization for about 30 days. Feels like forever. Also, when did I get so much freaking stuff? I’ve been living in a studio with no storage space so logically it would follow that I don’t have that much to move. However, I  admittedly suffer from “but I might need this [fill blank with a clothing item or something ridiculous] at some point” syndrome. And the sheer number of boxes labeled kitchen was staggering. Maybe because I stored all of my pots and gadgets in my clothes closet… Out of sight, out of mind definitely applies here.

This recipe has been languishing in my queue for a long time, and as a result, I don’t completely remember the exact amounts of each ingredient. I’ll blame general laziness on my part. I do, however, recall that these were delicious. I think egg rolls are the perfect casing for any number of fillings. I’m plotting out  future recipe ideas; the wheels are cranking like crazy over here. This will not be the last egg roll you see from me, I promise. While I’m brainstorming, I should probably come up with some more creative recipe titles, huh?

Greek(ish) Egg Rolls with Spinach and Mushrooms

1 package egg roll wrappers
2 large handfuls fresh spinach
1 small package mushrooms – chopped (I usually portobello, but any will do)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 white onion, diced
1 package crumbled feta cheese
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 egg
lemon juice (about 3/4 Tbsp or a big squeeze of a lemon – technical term, I know)
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Chop the mushrooms and onions.

Heat oil in a large frying pan on medium heat. Add chopped onions and saute for 2 minutes. Add garlic and continue to stir for 1 minute. Add mushrooms and cook until tender. At this point, you could add the spinach and continue to cook until wilted. I chose to pull of my mushrooms and cook the spinach separately because I wanted them to retain a little bit of bite.

 

 In a bowl, mix the mushrooms, spinach and feta. Add salt and pepper – a pinch of each and the lemon juice. Stir well to incorporate. In a separate bowl, beat the egg. This is how you will seal the egg roll.

 When I made the italian egg rolls, I tried to describe how to roll an egg roll. This time I remembered to take pictures! It’s the little things that make me beam with pride. As anyone that knows me can attest, my memory is terrible. I impressed myself.

Using the egg wash as a binder on each edge (you can apply with either a brush or your fingertip), fold the egg rolls as follows:

Fold up the bottom to the top (don’t forget to egg wash all of that action)

Fold in one side.

Fold in the other side.

Fold down the top, secure with egg, and you have a lovely envelope-esque egg roll!

Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray, line up the egg rolls, and mist the tops with cooking spray. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until brown. You can turn halfway through for more even cooking – I forgot that step.

We served ours with tomato sauce for dipping, but these are great on their own too!

You could add a little cream cheese if you’re looking for a creamier filling. I think they’re delicious without though.

Over and out… for now.

-k

 

Leave a Reply

