America is beautiful…Buffalo Chicken Bites, even more so.

Image

S wanted this title to be “Uncle Sam wants… buffalo chicken bites”. Do you see how patriotic we are over here? Happy Fourth of July!

Oh hi. Hi there. Hello. How’s it going? I sheepishly admit that I somewhat fell off the face of the earth. As ever, I have reasons… *ahem*… yep, they’re excuses. I started that new/old job. It’s going great, but I’m walking into a workload that is crazy behind. On top of that, our leases are up and S and I have been frantically figuring out what the living situation will be. It will be… interesting. We’re subletting a studio apartment for 3 weeks so we can move into an AWESOME place come mid-august. That’s right – I will have counter space, natural light, a dishwasher (swoon), a garbage disposal (double swoon) and a WINE FRIDGE. I will feel so fancy! 

In the meantime, not much cooking has been going on. We’ve been trolling craigslist hourly trying to find sublets,  which was really stressful. We didn’t think it was going to be that hard to find a good place (or even a shitty place) to stay. Option after option fell through. As it ended up, the first person who actually stayed in close email contact with us was a super sweet girl who agreed to have us as her subletters on the first visit! Phew. Always a relief to know you aren’t going to be homeless.

Now I feel like the worst of the anxiety is past. Hopefully I can share a little bit of the new studio, and then a lot a bit of the new apartment. There is a deck. A deck for grilling. And I’ll be able to fulfill my lifelong fantasy of having an outdoor couch. 

But in the meantime, let me share with you this recipe for buffalo chicken bites. I’m sure you’ve seen that recipe for buffalo chicken cups rolling around pinterest. This is similar, but slightly different. But oh so good. I’m bringing these guys to every party for the next while. They aren’t very labor intensive, and you can absolutely make them ahead of time and then bake for 10 minutes pre-party. Plus, they travel well.

Buffalo Chicken Bites (makes about 24)

3-4 chicken breasts (boneless/skinless)
1 package wonton wrappers (found in refrigerator section of your grocery store)
1 Tbsp paprika (easily omitted)
1/2 cup cayenne or buffalo sauce
1/3 cup sour cream
2 oz cream cheese (about 1/4 package)
1/3 cup ranch
1 1/2 cup cheddar/pepper-jack cheese (you could substitute 1/2 cup blue cheese)
 
Sprinkle the paprika over the chicken breasts, covering both sides. Pan fry on medium – medium/high heat for about 4 minutes on each side. The cook time will depend on the thickness of the chicken, but there should be no pink in the middle. Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Image

While the chicken is cooking, put the wonton wrappers in your mini muffin tin. I sprayed mine with cooking spray, even though it’s a nonstick pan. I know that it’s really not necessary, and yes, I know that it’s bad for the pan. Sorry. I get worried things are going to stick.

ImageImage

Once the chicken is fully cooked, shred or chop into small pieces. In a large bowl, combine sour cream and cream cheese. Mix well, and then add the ranch, buffalo sauce, chicken and shredded cheese (minus some for topping).

Image

Fill each cup about 3/4 full of the buffalo mixture.

Image

Now fold the corners and upright parts of the wonton wrappers in to the middle.

Image

They’re pretty cute, right? Pop in the oven for 4 minutes. Take out, and top with the remaining cheese. Image

Return to the oven for another 4 minutes, and then place under the broiler until the cheese is bubbly on top. Allow to cool for 5 minutes, take out of the muffin pan and serve. Top with finely chopped green onion or chives for garnish if desired.

Image

They are sooooo incredibly good. Very chicken-y, which I appreciated. And a nice mix of textures. Next time I’m definitely making with blue cheese. Let’s be honest, I assume I’ll be making these every week for the rest of the year.

Happy 4th! 

-k

4 thoughts on “America is beautiful…Buffalo Chicken Bites, even more so.

  1. You have the best recipes! Almost everything you post is on my “to make list.” Good luck with moving! P.S. I made yummy baked potato chips last night :-) Even my anti-potato (he’s just pro-rice) boyfriend loved them.

Leave a Reply

