Homemade, Awesome, Spicy, Delicious Bloody Marys

I can’t get enough of bloody marys. Well, let me rephrase. I can’t get enough of bloody mary mix. I’m not joking, this stuff is my crack. I will buy bloody mary mix and drink it sans vodka, because the vodka waters it down and I like my bloody mary flavors strong, spicy and with a lot of kick.

S helped me with this recipe, the development and the presentation. Mostly, S was in charge of the garden sprouting out of the top of our bloodies and the fastidious documentation of the recipe as I added more of this and more of that. If we had more peppers, more vegetables and more general craziness on hand, you can rest assured it would be in that glass (his “salad” as he would say).

Also, I feel like bloodies are one of our things. You know? I remember when we were still first dating, living in 2 different cities (me in KC, S in Chicago) and I would come visit and we would go grab a bloody in the morning. We have a very cute “how we met” story by the way and I promise I’ll share it with you some day. We tried to make our own bloody marys one other time, but I don’t think we were quite ready to tell each other, “that is a stupid idea” or “that will be disgusting” or “this actually tastes like shit…sorry”. Good news! We’re there now. Constructive criticism at its finest.

P.s. I choose to believe that “bloody maries” is incorrect. Hence the “bloody marys”. I’m still okay with “bloodies”. I know, I defy logic.

Homemade Bloody Marys/Bloody Mary Mix – makes 4 medium drinks or 3 large drinks

12 oz Tomato Juice
2 tsp (heaping) Prepared Horseradish
1 Tbsp, 1 tsp  Worcestershire Sauce
1 Tbsp, 1 tsp Hot Sauce (we used jalapeno hot sauce from Trader Joes, Tabasco would also work)
1 Tbsp Celery Salt (or more to taste)
2 tsp Garlic Powder
2 tsp crushed black pepper (to taste)
1/2 of a lime or lemon’s juice
1.5 oz vodka per drink 
Assorted peppers, vegetables and cheese for garnish (and pepperoni or salami if you had it. I wish we did.)

I mean… the directions are pretty simple. Assemble ingredients.

Mix everything together thoroughly.

Once mixed together completely, fill glasses with ice and measure a shot (1.5 oz) of vodka. Rough estimate. Do what ya gotta do. No judgement here. We measured. Guess which shot glass pertains to whom:

Nebraska vs. Yankees. Yep. I’ll take credit for good old NE – S is a die hard Yankees fan. And no, I did not fill that up all the way with vodka for my drink. Please see above for details on how I hate my mix watered down.

Look at the beautiful action shot I took with my lovely Vanna – S. He literally just commented “I should have gotten a mani for this pic”. I think you will all be kind to him.

And there you have it. Spicy, delicious, filling and gorgeous bloody marys. You can totally have a “make your own bloody mary bar” at your next brunch or day party. And how cute are those mason jars? I know Adrienne will love them, she’s obsessed with mason jars. Miss you lady!

Now, we’re off to Trivia Night. Because it’s Monday, and we like trivia.

-k

6 thoughts on “Homemade, Awesome, Spicy, Delicious Bloody Marys

  1. Pingback: Time To Celebrate! / Blog / Need Supply Co.

  2. Pingback: Baked Eggs in Ham Cups (alternate name: Pinterest Fail) | fat skinny foodie

Leave a Reply

