Savory French Toast Bites

I stumbled on this recipe for savory french toast bites a little while ago and I’ve been itching to try it ever since. You see, I don’t really like sweet food. Donuts? Ew. Cake? I’ll take those potato chips instead please. Candy? Meh. I suppose it’s a blessing, as I have no issue turning down cupcakes, sugar riddled desserts and the like. My waistline thanks me, and then curses the perpetual sodium bloat I choose instead.

Knowing this about me, it goes without saying that french toast is waaay down there on my list of desirable foods. First, I detest syrup. I have been known to text friends to notify them “someone on the train ate syrup for breakfast and the smell makes me want to puke”. Second, they’re very sweet. So what’s a girl to do? Load them up with bacon and cheese and call it a day.

Savory French Toast Bites (recipe adapted from Foodie Reflections)

1 head roast garlic (see here for detailed instructions)
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
3 large eggs
1 1/3 cup milk
1 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 medium (12-oz) loaf challah bread (or brioche), or approximately half a large loaf, cut into 1-inch thick slices
Chopped bacon
1 tomato, seeded and diced
1/4 cup chopped green onion, plus 1 Tbsp for garnish

I halved the recipe as there were only 2 of us and someone had eaten a lot of the challah loaf. Fine, I’ll admit that I helped…

To prep, cook the bacon and set aside to cool.

I tore off the chewy ends. We were having some pan heat issues. I also like my bacon basically burnt. Once cool, chop the bacon finely.

Then, seed and chop the tomato.

Whisk together the egg and milk and then mix in flour, salt and baking powder. Beat until smooth.

Cut bread into even slices, approximately 1 inch thick. Mine were a little thicker than that and the consensus was that the batter hadn’t seeped through and they were slightly too bread-y.

Dip each bread slice in batter mixture and turn to coat on both sides. Place in lightly greased baking pan.

Stir garlic, bacon, chives, cheese and tomatoes into the remaining egg batter and mix well. Pour this mixture over the bread in the pan and spread to coat evenly. I had more batter than bread. Whoops.

I know it looks like you’re piling a lot on there, but it will cook down, I promise. You want lots of savory goodness on top of these guys.

Bake uncovered at 350 for around 30 minutes or until the egg has set. Mine did not take this long, but I have a sneaking suspicion that the oven gets hotter than I’ve set it at. Let cool for 15 minutes.

I basically have a frittata around my french toast. These things happen. Once cool, use a small circular biscuit or cookie cutter (or a shot glass if you’re in a pinch – I plead the fifth on which option I used) to cut the rounds out of the toast.

Sprinkle with the remaining chives for garnish and serve warm. The original recipe indicated these would also reheat well in a 250 degree oven for 10 minutes. Ours didn’t make it that long.

I HIGHLY recommend this recipe. It was fairly easy and delicious.

Have a fabulous Wednesday – the weekend is almost here!

-k

 

8 thoughts on “Savory French Toast Bites

  1. I’m with you on the sweet stuff. Every now and then I want a pancake (one. singular) but savory’s totally my thing. I’m trying this baby out next weekend! It looks fantastic

  2. OMG, yum! My stomach is growling as I’m staring at your photos! It sounds yummy and simple. I can’t wait for my bf to fix our oven, I have so many recipes on the pending to cook list! I love the perfect bite size roundness of your french toasts.

Leave a Reply

