Roasted Red Pepper Aioli and how you go about roasting that red pepper in the first place

I really enjoy roasted red pepper, and when I get fancy sandwiches at restaurants, I really enjoy aioli. So, I figured what better than to combine the two and try to make some roasted red pepper aioli? Now this immediately posed a conundrum for me, because roasted red pepper just feels wrong to say (but roast red pepper doesn’t sound right either). I’m not even sure why. But I (and google) can assure you that roasted red pepper is definitely right. Annoying, but correct. I’ll also assume no one else has ever thought twice about it, which leads me to believe I actually am a crazy person.

I will admit, I have never tried to roast a pepper at home but I found it really easy! A couple of recipes suggested brushing the pepper with oil before placing under the broiler, but I didn’t go that route and it worked like a charm.

Basically, place red pepper under the broiler, and turn periodically until the outside skin is slightly blackened. The red pepper will lose its shape and no longer be firm. Then, you will peel away the outside skin.

It comes right off in little strips! I just found a part where the skin had cracked and pulled. I suppose you could use a knife as well. Can you see the steam coming off the above picture? It’s faint, but it’s there!

 I then cut into the peeled roasted red pepper and scraped out the seeds. I saw instructions saying you could just squeeze the seeds out the top, but this seemed easier to me. And now, you have a roasted red pepper to include in your aioli!

Roasted Red Pepper Aioli (adapted from the Saucy Southerner’s recipe)

3 Egg Yolks
1 1/2 tablespoons Dijon Mustard
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
2 cloves garlic
4 dashes Tabasco
1 Large Red Pepper, Roasted
2/3 cup olive oil
Kosher salt and ground black pepper, to taste

 This is pretty simple. Combine everything in the food processor except the oil, salt and pepper. I pulsed my red pepper first, just because I wanted to make sure everything broke down easily.

 What a beautiful, vibrant red.

Then add yolks, mustard, Tabasco, and lemon juice. Pulse until evenly combined.

I added extra garlic. Garlic makes everything taste better.

Drizzle in oil until fully incorporated. This should complete the emulsification process and you will end up with a cloudy liquid. Traditionally, aioli is made with oil, garlic and egg yolk. Wikipedia says so.

This aioli has the perfect amount of tang and kick – I loved it! And I was terrified I would get salmonella from eating the raw egg but I made it out in one piece. I say that so you will know not to be scared also.  And to add a disclaimer that the consumption of raw egg may increase your odds of foodborne illness. But seriously, it’ll be fine. Remember all that cookie dough you ate as a child?

Happy Tuesday!

-k

5 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper Aioli and how you go about roasting that red pepper in the first place

Leave a Reply

