A Sacred Family Recipe: Dill Dip with Vegetables

Before I start talking about this dill dip, I have a confession to make.  I have something of a condiment disease. As in, I like condiments on nearly everything I eat, and double dipping is essentially my middle name. Ideally, I would have a tablespoon of dip or condiment for every individual bite. No need to be grossed out, I do keep myself in check, publicly anyways, mainly because I realize my dipping habits are nowhere near the socially acceptable condiment norm. And yes, I do like plain potato chips with ketchup. I always have.

For my vegetables, I love vegetable dill dip. Plain vegetables just don’t do it for me, and this dip has been available at every extended family function for as long as I can remember. I suppose you might consider it a family recipe?

Vegetable Dill Dip (from the lovely green cookbook my mom made for me)

1 and 1/3 cup Mayonnaise
2/3 cup Sour Cream
1 Tbsp Dill Weed
2 Tbsp Parsley Flakes
1 tsp Minced Onion
1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
Dash Tabasco Sauce
Dash Garlic Powder

This one is just plain easy. Mix all ingredients together….

…and serve with assorted vegetables of your choice. I personally prefer with carrots and bell peppers, but some people actually enjoy eating celery and I imagine this would pair perfectly. The dip tastes best if refrigerated over night, as the flavors have a chance to meld and mellow. I would recommend making a day ahead of time – you won’t be sorry.

This dip is also a great alternative to serve with chips. Really, the possibilities are endless!

-k

 

Leave a Reply

