This Girl is made of Salt and Vinegar instead of Sugar and Spice: Homemade Potato Chips

I’ve been contemplating buying a mandoline for months. Why? Because I desperately wanted to make some homemade potato chips. Particularly, salt and vinegar homemade potato chips. No other reason. I decided I would wait to buy one until I could think of another use for it… And then S. kindly pointed out that you can use it to slice/julienne all kinds of vegetables. SOLD! I still was hesitant until S. found an inexpensive mandoline at Bed Bath and Beyond. We went with a different model, but still totally affordable! Plus it didn’t hurt that S. insisted on getting it for me as a gift. I’m pretty sure he knew I would talk myself out of it otherwise.

Hello my mandoline friend.

My idea of homemade salt and vinegar chips was something of a nebulous pipe dream, until I actually stumbled across a recipe out of the blue on The Other Courtney’s blog. It looked doable, and best yet, the potato chips were broiled instead of fried. So let’s call this recipe healthy, shall we? It’s certainly the healthier of the two options,

Homemade Salt and Vinegar Potato Chips (Adapted from Martha Stewart Living via The Other Courtney)

1 pound fingerling potatoes, sliced to 1/8-inch thickness
2 cups white vinegar
Extra virgin olive oil or Cooking Spray
Kosher Salt
Pepper

Slice potatoes to desired thickness. I like mine thinner and crispier than kettle cut potato chips, so I sliced accordingly. I found that anything under 1/8 inch thickness fell apart while boiling, so I’d recommend starting there.

Also, I’m sure it is possible to make these a little thicker and slice by hand. I believe a mandoline will make your life so much easier for this step. I also had a friend try to slice them via a slit on a grater with little success.

Place sliced potatoes in a small-medium saucepan and add vinegar – there should be enough vinegar to cover the potatoes. Bring to a boil, and then reduce to a simmer for about 8 minutes or until the potatoes are fork tender. Remove from heat and let potatoes sit in the vinegar for an additional 30 minutes. Drain, and pat dry with paper towels.

Now the next step can be done a number of ways. First, you can fry the potato chips in a few inches of oil. Obviously, I did not do that. The original recipe calls for you to put the potato chips on a baking sheet, add oil, salt and pepper and toss to coat evenly.

I didn’t do that either. Instead, I sprayed a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray, laid out the potato chips in a single layer, sprayed the tops of them evenly with non-stick cooking spray and sprinkled coarse ground sea salt (I forgot to add the pepper, whoops). I was trying for the lowest cal version of this recipe possible, although you could argue that using the olive oil is actually healthier than processed cooking spray.

From here, you can broil the potatoes until lightly browned, around 6-8 minutes, flip and brown the other side. I found this left my chips a little chewy in the middle, so I also put them back in the oven at 350 degrees F for a few minutes.

The next time I make this recipe, I’m going to try to put them in the oven at a low heat (like 250 F) for a really long time, and see how drying them out works. Either way, these things are addicting.

I was SO impressed with the outcome. I also want to try making them with different kinds of vinegars – I bet apple cider potato chips would be incredible.

I can’t say enough good things about this recipe (or my mandoline). You definitely need this in your repertoire. Plus, how fancy would these be to set out with a dip at your next party? Or take to a barbecue? The summer entertaining season is upon us, and I am getting excited!

 -k

6 thoughts on “This Girl is made of Salt and Vinegar instead of Sugar and Spice: Homemade Potato Chips

  1. I found a recipe for microwave potato chips. They didn’t turn out well. But I love potato chips so much! I should try them in my NuWave for an even crispier crunch. Thanks for the recipe.

  2. I tried making potato chips in the microwave once based on a recipe I found on Pinterest. Didn’t work out so well, so thanks for sharing this. I might have to try this on our NuWave and I also have a mandolin. They come in handy sometimes. Just don’t hurt yourself!

    • You know, I have been seeing a lot of those microwave chip recipes floating around, but I don’t have a microwave (*gasp) so I couldn’t have tried them if I wanted to :) Its funny you should mention it, I’m absolutely terrified I’m going to chop off a finger on the mandolin! Yes, yes I know thats impossible. I’m still worried.

  3. O.M.G. I just pigged out on a bag of these yesterday, but homemade would be SO much better. Try them with malt vinegar!

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Really the only reason I wanted to try to make these at home was 1 too many run ins with large bags of the storebought chips…. I love the malt vinegar idea – I’ll definitely have to give that a try! I’m also dying to try apple cider vinegar too.

  4. These look soo good. I’ve tried to make homemade potato chips in the past, but I haven’t been all that successful. I like the idea of broiling them so I think I’m going to have to give this recipe a try!

Leave a Reply

