Mini Caramelized Onion and Mushroom Quiches and a little Irrational Rage

I thought I might murder someone whilst getting ingredients for my mini quiches. I really honestly didn’t trust myself not to take someone down.  I was working within a very tight time schedule, and as everyone knows, that’s when everything goes awry. First, I had to run to my apartment to pick up a couple of supplies and ingredients as S. was entertaining people at his apartment. No big deal, until there was absolutely no parking to be found anywhere. And I mean anywhere. I had to have circled the block (and every surrounding block) 4 or 5 times before finally giving up and parking in the alley with my hazards on.  That immediately meant: 1) no quick shower as originally planned, 2) anxious peeks out the window to make sure no one was hitting, vandalizing or writing a ticket for my car and 3) frantic throwing together of everything without a list. Never good.

But I made it out of there quickly and still fairly on schedule. All I needed was puff pastry, cheese and mushrooms. Trader Joes was right on my way, so I ran in, picked up everything but the puff pastry in 2 minutes. Maybe less. But here’s where the plan stalled. You see, Trader Joes has stopped carrying puff pastry. Well at least mine has. I looked through the freezer section several times before finally breaking down and asking someone. He looked at me like I had a unicorn horn growing out of my forehead. Is puff pastry really that odd to inquire after? NO. But he informed me they stopped carrying it. Fine. I’ll go to the other Trader Joes by S’s house.

Frantically driving in Chicago city traffic, which follows no rhyme or reason and is always congested, I finally got to the other Trader Joes. What a surprise, no puff pastry. At that point, panic was setting in. People would be arriving at S’s house in a little over an hour and I still needed to shower. So I bought the pie crust, figuring it would work just as well.  The lovely gentleman ringing me up loudly bellowed “YOU’RE MAKING A PIE TODAY. IT’S PIE DAY!”  Normally I would play right along, but I just wanted him to ring up my damn pie crust so I could go make some mini quiches. Right then, the little boy (about two years old) behind me in line poured water all over the floor. His mommy was not very happy about it. As in screaming at him in front of everyone. This actually made me feel bad for both the little boy and the obviously frazzled mother, but caused the checkout guy to completely stop my transaction to watch it all go down. Not that I’d blame him any other day. It was absolutely one of those moments you don’t want to stare, you know you shouldn’t stare, so you find yourself surreptitiously… staring. Probably over your shoulder. I did. And then I got a “HEY, ENJOY YOUR PIE TODAY” on my way out the door.

I finally got to S’s place, parked, got into the apartment, took a quick shower and started cooking. Frantically.

Mini Carmelized Onion and Mushroom Quiches

1 package frozen pie crust or puff pastry
1 large onion – I prefer sweet or yellow onions
1 package mushrooms
2 Tablespoons butter
3 eggs
1/2 cup half and half
1 Tablespoon Worchestshire Sauce (optional)
1 1/2 cup Gruyere or Cheddar cheese (I used a mix)
White Wine
Salt and Pepper

Pull out pie crust and let sit at room temperature for an hour or until completely thawed. This was also an issue for me, as I obviously did not think to thaw my pie crust until… well precisely the momen I needed it. I put it in the oven at a very low temp until thawed, but I should point out that the directions for use on the pie crust boxexpresslystate you should never do that.

Chop Onion in half and then chop each half in very slender slices. Melt butter in large saute pan and separate onions and add to butter.

On medium low heat, cook onions until soft and caramelized. This should take approximately 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, start cutting the pie dough and putting it in a mini muffin pan. If you have a biscuit cutter, that would work well. I do not and used a glass – it worked like a charm. Place pie crust in each opening and press to fill evenly.

Are your onions caramelized? Add the mushrooms, Worchestershire sauce and the white wine. Continue to cook on medium low until mushrooms are soft and cooked through.

Now back to the pie dough. I blind baked mine as I was concerned they would not cook all the way through otherwise. Basically means I cooked just the pie dough for about 10 minutes prior to adding the filling. I will say I did not use any pastry weights and the dough puffed up quite a bit more than I was hoping for. I think in the futre I would poked holes all over the dough with a fork prior to blind baking in order to let the extra air escape.  I did this after they were baked in a desperate attempt to salvage, which kind of worked, but I thought they were a little too “crust-heavy” when eating (Still absolutely freaking delicious though).

Mix together the eggs, cream salt and pepper. Beat well so it is very creamy.

Now to put it all together. Layer cheese, then filling mixture and then pour egg over the top, filling the cups. Finish with another layer of cheese.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for 20-25 minutes or until the tops are bubbly and the edges are brown.

So cheesy. So delicious.

These were surprisingly not hard to make. Despite “time stress” I was under and they came together quite nicely. I hope you enjoy!

-k

13 thoughts on “Mini Caramelized Onion and Mushroom Quiches and a little Irrational Rage

  1. Um, can I have a whole pan? These are so yummy-looking. I actually have a full-size onion tart recipe in the works. I can completely relate to your party preparation related time rage. I have been there many times. You would think I would learn to be better prepared, but noooooo, I just have to leave something until the afternoon before a big dinner party. :)

  2. I love your story! I would have thrown in the towel after the no parking debacle and hit the freezer section for a package of pre-made quiche ha! These little beauties look so irresistible though that your efforts were clearly worth it. YUM!!! I’m definitely going to give these a try sometime. Thanks for the great recipe and the morning chuckle! XO

  3. Pingback: Crustless Mushroom Mini Quiches | Cooking Rustic

  4. I’m making this now and it smells so good. I had to sub veg broth for the wine and A1 for the worcestershire as I have a vegetarian daughter. I’m hoping she likes this! :) wish me luck as I’m not doing the mini’s…doing a regular pie size.

Leave a Reply

