Lunch Crunch: Open-Face Turkey Sandwich

I don’t know why, but I have a morbid fascination with what people bring for lunch. I don’t think I’m alone. I know at our office lunch table, the first five minutes of conversation are always dedicated to a breakdown of what everyone brought, the ingredients involved, if it’s tasty, etc., etc.  You know the drill – lean over the table, take a sniff, “What do you have there?”, mentally compare to your own lunch and inevitably determine the other person’s food looks better. “What’s on that sandwich, cheese?” “Is that chicken?”

Maybe the office lunch is a lost art.  I try to bring my lunch as often as I can and I usually forget to pack anything until the last minute, when I frantically tear through my fridge and freezer looking for any possible edible meal (all while brushing my teeth and tugging on socks of course).

This is the start of a new leaf.

Hear that? It’s me turning the leaf over.

I’m going to start bringing better lunches even if it kills me, and it just might.  If I stop blogging you should assume its because I’ve died a painful lunch death.

May I introduce to you: Hot Open-Face Turkey Sandwiches

I’ll let you in on the secret – it’s hot because it has giardiniera on it. Also because you put it in the oven.

I made this an open face sandwich for one simple reason. I am by no means a diet freak, but one less piece of bread equals less calories for my lunch. Let’s be honest, summer will be here before we know it and if I can cut out some calories without sacrificing taste, I might as well.

The ingredients are simple, and can be changed or supplemented easily:

Sourdough bread
Turkey lunchmeat
Spicy brown mustard
Giardiniera
Provolone Cheese
Parmesan Cheese

I figured if I was saving on calories with subtracting a piece of bread, sprinkling a little parmesan on top couldn’t hurt.

Lay as many pieces of Sourdough bread as desired on a baking sheet.  I always line my baking sheets with tin foil for easier clean up.  Liberally spread the spicy mustard over each piece. Or don’t.  I love mustard so I’m a liberal spreader. I would eat mustard on pretty much anything.

I also enjoy making knife swirls in the mustard.  It feels so artistic.  Next, spread the giardiniera evenly across each bread slice.  If you are unfamiliar with giardiniera, it is an Italian relish of hot peppers, carrots and various vegetables, generally pickled or marinated in some kind of oil.  You can find it in most grocery stores in varying levels of heat.  I generally buy the hot giardiniera as I like more kick.

I know, I put a lot on.  You don’t have to.  I also used a paper towel to blot up the excess oil from the giardiniera on the sandwich.  I’m not a fan of any oil that shouldn’t be there.  Layer the turkey on top.  I would recommend going to the deli section of your grocery store and having them shave you some lunchmeat rather than buying the prepackaged kind.  You will have a little more quality control and more flavor options.  I like the smoked turkey, turkey pastrami and peppered turkey.

Break up the Provolone cheese so one slice will evenly cover your sandwich.

And then sprinkle a little parmesan on top.  Parmesan makes everything better.

Place under the broiler until the cheese is melted, bubbly and browning on top.

Perfect. Delicious. Warm and gooey, perfect heat and spiciness from the giardiniera and mustard. A unique offering at the lunch table and certainly more exciting than a plain old turkey sandwich.

8 thoughts on “Lunch Crunch: Open-Face Turkey Sandwich

    • Your giardiniera recipe looks delicious! Because I live in Chicago, I can totally appreciate the authenticity you have going. I will have to leave out the olives because I’m not so much a fan. But hopefully I’ll find some time in the near future to give it a go! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

