Setting the smoke alarm off is the sign of a true culinary genius: Feta cheese truffles

I don’t understand.  How could such an easy, delicious appetizer escape my radar for this long?  I hate to admit it, but I google search new recipes weekly. Sometimes daily.  Sometimes hourly.  9 times out of 10, I am googling appetizers.  WHERE HAVE THESE BEEN ALL MY LIFE?

Perhaps it is kismet.  Because, you see, I am a proud owner of a brand new, shiny food processor.  And these little beauties are that much easier when blended in a food processor.  So likely I just wasn’t ready for this recipe before.

Am I being melodramatic? Maybe.

I looked at about a million recipes for cheese truffles, and decided I could do better! I could do my own thing! I could add in anything I wanted and these would taste amazing! I was on quite a confident cooking kick.

And then… I burned not 1, but 2 batches of bacon. I set the smoke detector off both times. There is still a smoky burnt aroma in my apartment days after the fact.  Pride cometh before the fall and this bacon was my nosedive.  At least the truffles turned out beautifully.

Feta Cheese Truffles

4 ounces cream cheese , softened
1 (4 ounce) container crumbled feta cheese
½ teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
2 Tablespoons finely chopped Chives (more or less to taste)
1 clove garlic
¼ teaspoon black pepper
1 dash cayenne pepper or hot sauce (this can become overpowering quickly so use with caution)

For outer coating:

Chopped fresh parsley (I only had dried and it was a little too intense)
Chopped bacon
Paprika
Chopped nuts (if you’re into that kind of thing)

If you are coating in bacon, fry bacon until very crispy (but not burnt- beware).  Set on paper towel to soak up excess moisture. When cook, finely chop and set aside.

Combine all truffle ingredients. Either blend in food processor, or mash together with a fork.  I tried both ways to make sure I wasn’t steering you wrong.  I’m not.  Allow mixture to chill in refrigerator until firm (at least one hour)

Roll into teaspoon sized balls and then coat in desired crust. I like the visual variety of the 3 colors.

9 thoughts on “Setting the smoke alarm off is the sign of a true culinary genius: Feta cheese truffles

    • You’re telling me! I put the extras in the freezer because I figured they wouldn’t get eaten fast enough… And then I pulled them out one at a time and kept going back and all of the sudden they were gone. One day later. oops.

Leave a Reply

