Crack Dip. You will become addicted. (Actual drugs not included)

Buffalo Chicken Dip.

I found some variation of this recipe years ago and have brought it to nearly every party, tailgate, gathering or friendly hangout since. You get the idea. Anywhere and everywhere, this dip is coming with me. I brought it to the aforementioned superbowl party on Sunday and was told “I’m a keeper”. It’s just that good.

3-4 chicken breasts
16 oz cream cheese (2 bricks) softened
1 cup frank’s red hot sauce (or more to taste. I use the entire regular sized bottle)
1 cup ranch or blue cheese salad dressing
1/2 pint sour cream
2 cups sharp cheddar cheese or colby jack cheese

Bring a pot of water to a boil. Add chicken, and allow to cook through – 10 to 15 minutes until no pink is left in the center. Cool chicken slightly and then shred with 2 forks or roughly chop. I used to always shred, but I’m finding the chunkier chop gives you a much meatier consistency. I’ve heard of people using the chunk chicken in a can, but I feel it’s pricer and the quality of meat is much lower.

I always try to take the cream cheese out of the fridge at the very beginning of the process and let it soften. It incorporates much quicker and will save you some time.

Mix together all ingredients. You can either bake 30 mins in a 350 degree oven and serve or stick in a crockpot, continually stirring until everything has melted together. I always go the crockpot route, because I think it is easier when entertaining.

Yes. I know. It’s so… Orange. You’re just going to have to trust me on this one.

On an experimental note, I really want to reduce some of the liquid from the recipe,  roll this in an egg roll, deep fry and recreate the “buffalo chicken roll” craze that is sweeping the bar scene. Hopefully I’ll get to that eventually.

9 thoughts on “Crack Dip. You will become addicted. (Actual drugs not included)

  1. I like the egg roll idea. See if you can make it with less calories or something. Also, I always use chicken in a can for chicken salad. It’s not bad in price at Costco. However I don’t know the quality of the meat.

    • I’ve never seen a can of chicken that has been less expensive than just buying the raw chicken (when you take the amount of chicken you’re getting into account), but then again I’ve never shopped at Costco. I’m sure between that and Ashley’s couponing you guys are getting some good deals.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I had to come here and see what was cookin’ too! :) This makes my mouth water just thinking about it. LOVE that it is gluten free. Totally going to make this and dip celery in it. YUM!

    • Thanks!! The crazy thing is I have a post coming up about cheese truffles! (already made, just got to get everything edited and together) I saw you made them recently as well! I have a feeling we have similar salty/savory palates, which obviously means I have to keep reading your blog!

  3. I had never heard of this until I saw this post a few weeks ago. I’ve been itching to make it ever since. Going to the kitchen this minute to do just that. ;) My mouth is watering. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

