Football Sunday Jock-amole

We went to a friend’s house to watch the Superbowl yesterday.  We were rooting for the Giants because S (my bf) was raised on the east coast and his dad is a huge fan.  Now, I’ll admit, I kind of knew what I was getting myself into.  I knew there would probably be 8-12 guys and hopefully at least one other girl… maybe (and there was for… oh… 2 hours out of 6).  BUT, I have this outdated mindset that when boys get together they throw together a pile of chips and call it a day. I told myself I’d rescue them with some tasty appetizers. Sadly, I imagined the whole scenario ahead of time and actually spent time fantasizing about riding in on my white horse with appetizers in hand.  I don’t even know why I’m even admitting this in a public forum.

I. Was. Wrong.

I could barely find space on the counter for my 3 items. And much to my chagrin, someone else had brought guacamole!!! I mean, not that it’s completely ridiculous to think someone else might bring guacamole to a football party. However, I had hemmed and hawed at the grocery store trying to think of a quick and easy, last minute third thing to bring. And I literally rounded the store 3 times picking things up and putting them back as I changed my mind. I finally threw in some avocados, jalapenos, a tomato and a lime because I knew I had the other ingredients at home (other 2 apps were buffalo chicken dip and mini gyro bites. recipes coming soon and they were delicious).

But seriously, to turn your attention back to the “other guac”. I looked at it a minute wondering if it was guac (because it had a brownish and decidedly soupy consistency)… and it was. The guy made it with 14 avocados. FOURTEEN AVOCADOS. Hello. 1. Avocados are d@mn expensive if you’re buying them by the teens, and 2. Haven’t you heard of a little lime juice? I thought it was excess at it’s not so finest.

And yes, I had a gleeful and not wholly appropriate sense of satisfaction when more people ate my guac than his.

2-4 Avocados (depending on size. I like 2 if they’re very big, 3 if medium, or 4 if very small)
1 medium onion
1 tomato
1-2 limes juiced, to taste
3 cloves garlic
2 jalapenos
1/4 cup finely chopped fresh cilantro
Salt and pepper

I think guacamole is delicious chunky. I would make sure to get the lime juice in as soon as you cut up the avocados and your guac will stay nice and green. I find mashing the avocados with a fork separately is a totally worthwhile step, but i would imagine you could also use a food processor to blend everything together too.

Cut the avocado length-wise in a circle and twist apart. Then hit the knife into the pit and pull it out. I usually hit it at least 4 times and end up kind of prying it out. I assume everyone else also makes it sound much easier than it actually is.

Chop the tomato, onion and jalapeno and add to a mixing bowl

Some people think cilantro tastes soapy and is a forbidden ingredient. Easy enough, leave it out! Or use less. You don’t have to be a slave to the recipe.

Stir/mix/mash. Do what you gotta do people. Make it how you like it. Add the ingredients you have not added yet.  All I ask is that you don’t use 14 avocados and neglect to add lime juice. Is that too much?

One thought on “Football Sunday Jock-amole

  1. 14 avocados is not logical. It’s safe to say that guy won’t make it on Top Chef. Cilantro works on everything. It’s cheap too. Nice work. Too bad you didn’t make brats for the sausage fest. Btw, do you do glamour shots?

Leave a Reply

