Do I sound pretentious when I prounounce Bruchetta with a hard “k”?

So I had this recipe all ready to go: title written, photos uploaded and just needed to sit down and actually type the little sucker up. And then, last night, I had a dream that I was making bruschetta! So weird! In my dream I was on a competitive cooking tv show, and they gave us a couple of ingredients and we had to make a dish. I remember scoffing as I watched the other competitors and feeling absolute confidence in my recipe. Then somehow, we were all inVegas and going to the pool. Thus is life in dream world.

But I digress. I have long noticed the debate on the proper pronunciation of Bruschetta, and I ran it by a couple of people that had NEVER heard it pronounced with a hard “k” instead of broo-shetta… Well folks, turns out “k” is the way. Here’s a funny little rant on the topic from Inside Scoop San Fransisco:

How Do You Pronounce ‘Bruschetta’

**Update. I have spoken with another reliable source – my good friend Aly, who minored in Italian and has spent time there. No getting out of it, we’ve been wrong all this time. I may throw caution to the wind and actually start pronouncing it correctly… possibly. Either way, this post is hereby dedicated to Aly. 

Now let’s get to the good stuff! Ingredients (and as always, add more or less as you like. I don’t measure anything, so this is a rough estimate of what I used)

French or Sourdough Baguette, thinly sliced

2 Fresh Tomatoes

2/3 cup chopped fresh Basil

1/2 finely chopped (dare I say minced?) onion

Handful of Parmesan or Italian blend cheese

2 Tbsp Extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup Balsamic Vinegar

Salt and Pepper to taste

This is another recipe where you chop it all up and mix it together. No rhyme or reason to it, but I recommend continually tasting to determine if you need to add more or less of a component.

To chop the basil, it’s easier if you layer the leaves and then roll them up and chop from one end.

I love onions. I can’t help it.

It was dark and rainy out, so the pictures didn’t turn out as well as I would have liked. Oh well, I’ve since invested in some extra lighting… But nothing will beat daylight for photography.

Don’t forget the cheese!

Now, slice the bread as thinly as you’d like and lightly toast in the oven. I actually did this during my assembly stage, but it only takes a couple of minutes and it’s easy to forget/burn. I only know because I’ve done it. More than once.

At parties, it works best if you keep the tomato mixture in a bowl and place the bread next to it, allowing people to dish up their own pieces. That way the bread doesn’t get soggy. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

