This recipe has no name. Well… Good chicken roll up things. Yep.

I got the idea for this recipe from two different appetizers other people have made and I have loved. Erin- shout out time- my old roommate always made the best “mexican roll-up” things when we’d have people over and I was obsessed with them. BUT a lady I used to work with brought something similar to the office, and I wondered… wait, can I just put some stuff in cream cheese, roll it up in a tortilla and call it a day? The answer is YES. Here’s what I came up with.

Shredded chicken

Green Onion

Red Bell Pepper

Cream Cheese (let it sit for a half hour so it’s soft and easy to work with)

Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Pepperocini (or Jalapenos or another spicy pepper)

Flour Tortillas

I know you can buy chicken in a can for a quick and easy solution. But I find canned meat suspect, and I usually buy and bulk and freeze what I’m not using immediately. So I choose to boil my chicken for about 10 minutes (or until the middle is white) and then shred with 2 forks.

And then chop chop! Chop the peppers and the green onion. I chose to “roast” my red peppers, but it’s probably an unnecessary step. Also “roasting” consisted of me forgetting I had put them in a saute pan on the stove and they burned a little bit. But I hear that’s a desired effect so I’m going with it.

Mix the shredded chicken, peppers, onions and cream cheese together in a bowl. Add the shredded cheddar cheese.

Spread the mix on a single tortilla and roll it up!

Once it’s rolled, I suggest refrigerating for an hour for easier cutting. I didn’t do that this time. I’m a rebel.

One thought on “This recipe has no name. Well… Good chicken roll up things. Yep.

Leave a Reply

