Stuffed Mushrooms 2 Ways: I die for these appetizers. Not joking.

Nom nom nom. I would make these every single day if I could. They are awesome for bringing to parties and freeze and reheat well. I would recommend freezing before cooking and then popping them in the oven. You can stuff mushrooms with a variety of delish ingredients, but I put the same base in these two options and then just split in half and added a final ingredient to each mix. Here’s what you need:

One box (crate? blue or black plasticky thingy?) of whole mushrooms. I prefer baby bella

1/2 half finely chopped onion – more or less to taste. I used more because I love onion

Garlic

Butter

Spinach – This was the  first time I’ve used it. We’ll call it a negligible ingredient

1 Egg

Bread crumbs

Cream Cheese

White Wine (optional)

Sausage (I used spicy chicken sausage, and I would definitely recommend something with a little heat)

First things first, pull the stems out of the mushroom caps. I think its easiest if you push the stem to one side until you feel it break and then push it to the other side. That way everything stays nicely intact. Set the caps aside and finely chop the stems, onion, garlic and spinach.

Melt a little butter and simmer your freshly chopped mix together. I always add a little white wine to add flavor, but it’s not necessary. I also like having a glass of white wine while cooking… so ya know, it all works out.

When the onions are translucent (aka when they look pearly/when you accidentally leave them too long and they start looking a little brown) separate into 2 bowls. Brown the sausage immediately in the same pan, and add to one bowl. Add cream cheese to the other bowl. And yes, I added some sharp cheddar. I couldn’t help it! I need cheese-therapy. Both bowls get a liberal dusting of bread crumbs.

Using a spoon, heap the fillings into the mushroom caps. Its essentially a competition. How high can ya go?

Place onto a greased cookie sheet or pan and put in the oven at 350 degrees until the tops are brown. I’d give it a while, probably 12-15 minutes at least.

And here’s what you get. Fantasticness. Seriously I usually eat about half of these when I’m making them. But bring them to a party and you will be a hero! They freeze really well if you need to make ahead of time, but I would recommend freezing before you bake them.

One thought on “Stuffed Mushrooms 2 Ways: I die for these appetizers. Not joking.

Leave a Reply

