Homemade Pasta, I’m all over it.

When tackling a new and challenging cooking feat, it’s always good to start with a healthy level of confidence (read: beyond 10 seconds of googling “homemade pasta” I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing and have convinced myself I’m essentially an expert)

I’ve finally gotten a chance to wrestle the pasta monster. Had a bit of a ditzy speedbump when I doubled the flour and forgot to double the eggs, but surprisingly not bad. I looked through a lot of recipes to determine how to make the pasta and this is what I ended up with:

2 eggs for every one cup of flour, pinch of salt, and a dash of extra virgin olive oil.

Make a well in the flour and put the eggs in the middle. stir the eggs and gradually mix in the flour. I did this in a bowl because I didn’t trust myself with eggs running free. I think a lot of people do it directly on the counter. Knead the dough until it’s no longer tacky and roll out on a floured surface.

Here’s the thing. I don’t have a pasta roller. Kudos if you do, but this is going to take some muscle people. It took a lot longer than I thought it would and I would have preferred my noodles turned out thinner than they actually did. So heads up about that. Just keep rolling, just keep rolling.

I cut mine into long, thin strips, but cut as you will! Cook in boiling water for around 7-10 minutes or until desired tenderness.

Sauce recipes to follow!

Leave a Reply

