Beer + Bread = Best idea ever.

If this bread doesn’t taste delicious at first, it will after you finish the 5 other beers in the 6 pack you bought for “baking”.

This is a fabulously simple recipe and lends itself well to improvements/changes/throwing random ingredients in. I also find I almost always have everything I need on hand which is always a plus.

3 cups organic all-purpose flour
¼ cup granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

1 bottle or can of beer

Combine dry ingredients in mixing bowl.  The bread will be fluffier if you sift the flour, but I don’t own the sifter and haven’t been disappointed with the results. If you are going to add any cheese/herbs, add to the dry ingredients BEFORE you add the beer. Otherwise it won’t work through the dough consistently. Slowly fold in the beer and stir until everything is incorporated. I like to let mine sit and rest before popping into a 350 degree oven for roughly 40 minutes.

I’ve seen many variations of this recipe, messed around with the proportions and this has emerged as my favorite. I would certainly recommend adding herbs, cheese, and/or playing with the type of beer to accomplish different flavor profiles.

I added garlic and sharp cheddar to the mix, and about 10 minutes before it was done, I added shredded cheddar cheese to the top of the loaf. After all, the more cheese the better. Yum!

Suck it down suckas!

Leave a Reply

